The communications department of Association KROKODIL is the winner of this year’s European Communication Award in the category “Association/NGO”. The Award is presented annually by the European Association of Communication Directors (EACD) in a gala ceremony held at the European Communication Summit.  

KROKODIL festival is a literary festival that presents contemporary literature of the Western Balkans region in a unique and original way – without rigidities, whether generational, political, cultural, or sexual. With a modern and dynamic approach to the craft of literary presentation – readings by authors supported by audio-visual media, musical and stage performances and the wide spectre of different literary forms including poetry, fiction, essays and plays, KROKODIL festival, ever since its inception in 2009, grew to become one of the most popular and well visited literary events in the region of former Yugoslavia.

In 2015 the Krokodil team decided to address two major requests facing the European cultural scene with its festival: the prevalent questions of audience development and the cross-cultural connection across the European continent.  For the first time, the team of three, established a complete communications strategy for the “International Literary Festival KROKODIL”.  They exceeded their own and partner’s expectations: KROKODIL is now internationally recognised as an important factor in placing the European literature on the global scene and was therefore invited to attend the Sheikh Zayed Book Award 2016 in Abu Dhabi.

The final shortlist in the category Association/NGO was comprised of Rode Kruis Vlaanderen, Association Krokodil and Eurocities. Through a video each shortlisted team was introduced at the European Communication Summit yesterday. Conference participants were asked to vote for the winner of the award.

The European Communication Award annually marks the highlight of the European Communication Summit celebrations in Brussels. Previous winners include Médecins Sans Frontières (2015), Paul Polman, CEO of Unilever (2014), Stephen Elop, CEO of the Nokia Corporation (2013), Marc Bolland, CEO of Marks and Spencer (2012), Peter Löscher, CEO of Siemens (2011), and Sergio Marchionne, CEO of Fiat (2010).